Yafeng Wang

Project title: Topology optimization of active structural systems

Host Institution: Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

Host Supervisor: Prof. Ole Sigmund

Co-host Institution: Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e)

Co-host Supervisor: Prof. Patrick Teuffel

Summary project: Topology optimization has been applied to a wide variety of engineering and scientific fields to achieve novel structural systems with better performances. Most existing works on structural topology optimization focus on passive structural systems. Nowadays, active structural systems have drawn more and more attention because of their material saving and active controllability features compared with passive structural systems. For example, in the civil engineering field, active structures have been used to achieve lighter weight designs to reduce material consumption and environmental impact; in the aerospace field, active structural systems have been designed to achieve structural active morphing. Compared to passive structural systems, there are many challenges and difficulties in the topology optimization of active structural systems. This project aims to develop a general framework for topology optimization of active structural systems that could be applied in multiple disciplinary areas to design novel active structural systems with better performances.

Yafeng Wang
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

EuroTechPostdoc2 Programme

Within the EuroTechPostdoc2 programme, the universities of the EuroTech Universities Alliance offer seventy Marie Skłodowska-Curie fellowships to experienced high-potential researchers, in two calls for 35 fellows each. Besides giving the fellows the freedom to establish their own research lines, the programme provides exceptional training opportunities to prepare the fellows for a future as part of the new generation of scientific leaders, within and outside of academia.

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement no. 899987.

Supported by Eindhoven University of Technology. Designed by Penrose CDB – www.penrose-cdb.com